Reflecting on the past year…

Posted in Uncategorized by DrMikePosey on September 11, 2012

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted.  9 months to be exact.  Those of you who follow me, know that I’m very active on Twitter and on other social media sites so this blog has basically developed a bad case of the cobwebs.  I’ll blow the cobwebs off for now and write a little something here for old-time’s sake.  Well it’s been a great year… I continue to be amazed by my children who are doing things I can only dream of and who, every day teach me something about my past, present, and future.  It’s been a transformative few years to say the least and, in many ways, I think I’ve learned more in the past 3 years than I did in the 42 prior to that!  I read a psych book recently where the author contended (and had some studies to back him up) that American males actually mature after age 43…he asserted that “it” finally hits males somewhere in their early 40’s.  Maturity levels rise, stress eases, patience blossoms, etc… well I believe him!  That’s all I have to say.

I also believe that I’ve learned so much from my children.  They teach me every day that life is about so much more than what I thought it was about.  Like most parents, I think my kids are the greatest.  After all, isn’t that what being a parent is about…doting on about your kids.  Well I feel that God has blessed me so richly in that department and continues to bless me with amazing children who teach me much.

My oldest, Brandon,  is a Junior in college and recently finished up a Summer  fellowship at Clemson in Computer Science.  His calm demeanor and disciplined work-ethic always remind me that that slow and steady is a very positive way of doing things.  My son Zachary, freshly back from a summer mission trip in Eastern Europe is making his own way in college and showing me the value of love, compassion, and understanding those who are different.  My daughter Meg whose passion for acting has, among other things, won her a spot on a PBS kids show demonstrates how one’s passions in life will always pay off if you try hard enough.  My step-son Adrian who just began kindergarten reminds me every day of the need for order in life and my littlest daughter Piper who will turn 2 early next year, reinforces within me how wondrous and amazing life truly can be when seen from the eyes of an innocent child.  To her there is no hate, no malice, no game…to Piper there is just living life to the fullest and exploring and enjoying every day.

My kids teach me every day.  I’m very thankful for them for they are the ones who truly teach me what life is about!

Leave a Reply

